Municipal elections (2021-2022)

Elections in Palestine’s 121 municipalities will take place in two phases according to a decision taken by the Palestinian Authority (PA) Council of Ministers: The first phase, scheduled for 11 December 2021, will include 376, mostly rural, local authorities in the West Bank. The second phase will take place on 26 April 2022 and include the remaining 66 local authorities — in Gaza and larger municipalities in the West Bank.

This comes after the cancellation of legislative and presidential elections by President Mahmoud Abbas in May 2021; and the PA’s decision to dissolve existing municipal councils in July 2021. Hamas has announced its intention to boycott municipal elections, and prevent the inclusion of Gaza which it controls. Municipal elections were last held in the West Bank only in 2017 amidst a similar boycott by Hamas.