Legislative Elections (1996)

Elections for the Palestinian Legislative Council, the parliament of the Palestinian Authority (PA), were first held in 1996. They were won by Yasser Arafat’s Fatah party. Official results can be found here.

The distribution of parliamentary seats was as follows: Fatah (50); Independents (35); Palestine Democratic Union (FIDA) (1); National Democratic Coalition (1).

Hamas boycotted the 1996 elections. However, two Islamist lists did run in the legislative elections: the Islamic Jihad Movement (al-Aqsa Brigades); and the Islamic Struggle Movement. A full list of candidates can be found here.

The elections were conducted based on a district system. There were a total of 10 electoral districts, represented by 88 parliamentary seats.