UK Members of the Council

ECFR has brought together a distinguished Council of over three hundred Members – serving politicians, decision makers, thinkers and business leaders from across the EU – which meets once a year as a full body.  Through geographical and thematic task forces, members provide ECFR staff with advice and feedback on policy ideas and contribute to ECFR’s activities in their own countries. The Council is chaired by Carl Bildt, Lykke Friis and Norbert Röttgen.

UK Council Members:

  • Douglas Alexander – Visiting Professor, New York University Abu Dhabi; former Secretary of State for International Development
  • Valerie Amos – Master of University College, University of Oxford; former UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs
  • Alistair Burt – Pro-Chancellor, Lancaster University; former Minister of State for the Middle East  
  • Ian Clarkson – Founder, Celerant Consulting
  • Robert Cooper – Diplomat; former Special Adviser, European External Action Service
  • Alessandra Galloni – Editor-in-Chief, Reuters
  • Timothy Garton Ash – Professor of European Studies, University of Oxford
  • Anthony Giddens – Life Fellow, University of Cambridge
  • Heather Grabbe – Director, Open Society European Policy Institute
  • Charles Grant – Director, Centre for European Reform
  • Jo Johnson – Chair, TES Global; former Minister for Universities and Science
  • Mary Kaldor – Director of the Conflict Research Programme, London School of Economics
  • David Lammy – Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs
  • Mark Leonard – Director, European Council on Foreign Relations
  • Daniel Levy – President, US Middle East Project
  • Adam Lury – CEO, Menemsha Ltd
  • Mark Malloch-Brown – President of the Board of Directors, Open Society Foundations
  • Rana Mitter – Professor of the History and Politics of Modern China, Oxford University
  • Kirsty McNeill – Director of Policy, Advocacy and Campaigns, Save the Children
  • Anand Menon – Director, UK in a Changing Europe; Professor of European Studies, King’s College London
  • David Miliband – President and CEO, International Rescue Committee; former Foreign Secretary
  • Andrew Puddephatt – Chair, Internet Watch Foundation; Executive Chair, Global Partners Digital
  • Nicola Reindorp – CEO, Crisis Action
  • Janet Royall – Principal, Somerville College, University of Oxford; former Leader of the House of Lords
  • Adam Tooze – Shelby Cullom Davis Chair of History & Director of the European Institute, Columbia University