A breaking point? What’s in store for Europe after the summit

Online debate by ECFR Warsaw and ideaForum of the Batory Foundation

, Berlin time (CET, UTC+1)


Caroline de Gruyter, columnist and journalist at NRC Handelsblad Gerald Knaus, director of the European Stability Initiative José Ignacio Torreblanca, head of ECFR Madrid Office

Chaired by

  • Piotr Buras, Director, ECFR Warsaw Office
  • Mikołaj Czesnik, Member of the Board, Stefan Batory Foundation

After many weeks of wrangling, the EU summit brough a compromise over the EU’s budget and the rule of law mechanism. Political declarations attached to the summit’s conclusions allowed long awaited funds to be released. Is this result a success for Poland and Hungary or for their opponents? Or is it Europe as a whole that prevailed? How the dispute over veto impact relations in the EU and how will the rule of law battle turn out?

It is possible to watch the event on Youtube and on Facebook.


The event will begin with interventions by Caroline de Gruyter (columnist and journalist at NRC Handelsblad), Gerald Knaus (director of the European Stability Initiative) and José Ignacio Torreblanca (head of ECFR Madrid Office).

These will be followed by a roundtable discussion between intellectuals from Poland and beyond. So far confirmed are

  • Piotr Arak, Polish Economic Institute
  • Edwin Bendyk, President of the Stefan Batory Foundation
  • Piotr Buras, ECFR Warsaw Office
  • Kinga Brudzińska, GLOBSEC
  • Agnieszka Cianciara, Institute of Political Science, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Roland Freudenstein, Wilfried Martens Centre for European Studies
  • Lucas Guttenberg, Jacques Delors Centre
  • Marcin Kędzierski, Cracow University of Economics; Centre of Analyses of the Jagiellonian Club
  • Renata Mieńkowska-Norkiene, University of Warsaw
  • Bartłomiej E. Nowak, Vistula University
  • Patrycja Sasnal, Polish Institute of International Affairs
  • Eugeniusz Smolar, Centre For International Relations
  • Agnieszka Smoleńska, Polityka Insight
  • Monika Sus, Institute of Political Science, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Edit Zgut, University of Warsaw; German Marshall Fund