Berlin, 26th-27th June. #ecfr17

Welcome to ECFR's Annual Council Meeting page. 

The Annual Council Meeting was live on the 26th and 27th of June. Follow the conversation on #ECFR17

Watch: "‘ECFR talk’: A strong Europe in the world of today" with Sigmar Gabriel, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany. Read his full speech here.

You can find more video recordings of the event on our Facebook page.

A selection of audio recordings from the event is available on Mixcloud. Subscribe here to make sure you don't miss them!


The ECFR Annual Council Meeting is one of the leading conferences on Europe’s foreign policy. We follow the energy of the debate and this year, for our tenth anniversary, we will meet in Berlin on 26 & 27 June 2017,in the context of the campaign for the German federal election.

  • Mabel van Oranje at the ECFR ACM 2016
  • ECFR ACM 2016

The event, gathering once a year ECFR members, stands out by retaining the intimacy and interactivity of a private club, allowing a range of high-level speakers from Europe and beyond to look creatively and practically at Europe’s long-term prospects and its role in the world.

An overview of ECFRCouncil Membersaffiliations

An overview of ECFRCouncil Members affiliations

Follow this page on the 26th and 27th of June to get live multimedia updates from the ECFR Annual Council Meeting

Find multimedia resources from last year's meeting in The Hague

  • Carl Bildt
    Carl Bildt
    former Prime Minister of Sweden
  • Emma Bonino
    Emma Bonino
    former Foreign Minister of Italy
  • Ditmir Bushati
    Ditmir Bushati
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of Albania
  • Brendan Cox
    Brendan Cox
    Co-Founder, More in Common
  • Muriel Domenach
    Muriel Domenach
    General Secretary, CIPDR
  • Lykke Friis
    Lykke Friis
    Prorector for Education, University of Copenhagen
  • Sigmar Gabriel
    Sigmar Gabriel
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • Filippo Grandi
    Filippo Grandi
    High Commissioner for Refugees, United Nations
  • Jean-Marie Guéhenno
    Jean-Marie Guéhenno
    President & CEO, International Crisis Group
  • Emily Haber
    Emily Haber
    State Secretary, Federal Ministry of the Interior of Germany
  • Sylvie Kauffmann
    Sylvie Kauffmann
    Editorial Director, Le Monde
  • Flavia Kleiner
    Flavia Kleiner
    Co-President, Operation Libero
  • Stefan Kornelius
    Stefan Kornelius
    Head of International Section, Süddeutsche Zeitung
  • Julius Krein
    Julius Krein
    Founding Editor, American Affairs
  • Daniel Levy
    Daniel Levy
    President, USMEPP
  • Katarina Mathernova
    Katarina Mathernova
    DG NEAR Deputy Director General, European Commission
  • Matthias Nass
    Matthias Nass
    Chief International Correspondent, Die Zeit
  • Christine Ockrent
    Christine Ockrent
    Commentator and writer
  • Janka Oertel
    Janka Oertel
    Programme Director, Körber Foundation
  • Kati Piri
    Kati Piri
    Member of European Parliament
  • Norbert Röttgen
    Norbert Röttgen
    Chairman, Foreign Affairs Committee of the Bundestag
  • Marietje Schaake
    Marietje Schaake
    Member of European Parliament
  • Michael Schwarz
    Michael Schwarz
    Executive Director, Stiftung Mercator
  • Frank-Walter Steinmeier
    Frank-Walter Steinmeier
    President of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • Alexander Stubb
    Alexander Stubb
    Former Prime Minister of Finland
  • Christos Stylianides
    Christos Stylianides
    European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Management
  • Helle
    CEO, Save the Children
  • Jorge Toledo
    Jorge Toledo
    State Secretary for the EU, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Spain
  • Sinan Ulgen
    Sinan Ulgen
    Chairman, Center for Economics and Foreign Policy Studies
  • Tomáš Valášek
    Tomáš Valášek
    Director, Carnegie Europe
  • Shahin Vallée
    Shahin Vallée
    Senior Economist, Soros Fund Management
  • Mohammad Javad Zarif
    Mohammad Havad Zarif
    Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran