This page was archived on October 2020.



More than any other ECFR publication, the European Foreign Policy Scorecard 2010 was a collective project. It was guided by a steering group co-chaired by Vaira Vike-Freiberga and Antonio Vitorino and supervised by Mark Leonard, who also co-wrote the introduction. The research team included ECFR staff and researchers in the 27 member states. Other ECFR staff including Susi Dennison, Anthony Dworkin, Silvia Francescon, Ben Judah, Nicu Popescu, José Ignacio Torreblanca and Nick Witney also contributed to the research.

As well as all the members of the research team and the steering group, without whom the scorecard would not have been possible, the authors would like to gratefully acknowledge their debt to other people who have assisted in the project in different ways. Timothy Garton Ash, Andrew Moravcsik and Kalypso Nicolaïdis provided insights and constructive criticism on its methodology at various stages of the project. We would also like to give special thanks to Marin Lessenski and Vessela Tcherneva, who helped to conceive the project.

Many other experts on particular aspects of European foreign policy gave us helpful feedback on parts of the text. They included Florian Bieber, Chris Chivvis, Doug Elliott, Sabine Fischer, Isabelle Ioannides, Mehmet Karli, Manuel Lafont Rapnouil, Juraj Marušiak, Marie Mendras, Stanislav Secrieru, Jeremy Shapiro, Andrew Small and Fabrizio Tassinari. At the Brookings Institution Center on the US and Europe, Tessa Adamson, Emmanuelle Gilles and Martin Michelot worked tirelessly to compile and check data, calculate grades and coordinate the researchers in the member states.

At ECFR, Lorenzo Marini designed a specific area of the website to accommodate the scorecard data, Alexia Gouttebroze and Jan Lasocki did additional research, Nicholas Walton and Fran Yeoman provided helpful advice, and the support of Alba Lamberti, Dick Oosting and Nina Ryöppönen at various stages of the project was invaluable.

Finally, we would like to thank the team at Compagnia di San Paolo, in particular Mario Gioannini and Nicolò Russo Perez. While all of these people helped tremendously to improve the scorecard, responsibility for the remaining mistakes and errors of judgment lies with the authors.



Go back to the home page