ECFR has brought together a distinguished Council of over three hundred Members – politicians, decision makers, thinkers and business people from the EU’s member states and candidate countries – which meets once a year as a full body. Through geographical and thematic task forces, members provide ECFR staff with advice and feedback on policy ideas and help with ECFR’s activities within their own countries. 

ECFR’s Italian Council Members are:

  • Giorgia Abeltino – Director of Public Policy and South Europe, Google Italy
  • Giuliano Amato – Former President of the Council of Ministers; former President of the Italian Constitutional Court; former Prime Minister of Italy
  • Vincenzo Amendola – Member of the Chamber of Deputies
  • Enrico Maria Bagnasco – CEO, Sparkle
  • Deborah Bergamini – Member of the Chamber of Deputies
  • Emma Bonino – former Minister of Foreign Affairs; former European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid
  • Mara Carfagna – Member of the Chamber of Deputies; former Minister for the South and Territorial Cohesion
  • Marta Dassù – Senior Advisor Europe, The Aspen Institute; Editor-in-Chief, Aspenia
  • Massimo Deandreis  General Manager, S.R.M. Economic Research Center related to Intesa Sanpaolo Group
  • Emanuela C. Del Re – EU Special Representative for the Sahel
  • Piero Fassino – President, CeSPI; Member of the Chamber of Deputies
  • Enrico Letta – Member of the Chamber of Deputies; President, Jacques Delors Institute
  • Giampiero Massolo – Ambassador; Chair, Institute for International Political Studies; President, Atlantia SpA
  • Paolo Messa – Executive Vice President, Leonardo
  • Simone Nisi – Head of Institutional Affairs, Edison
  • Lapo Pistelli – Director for Public Affairs, ENI; former Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Lia Quartapelle – Member of the Chamber of Deputies
  • Nicolò Russo Perez – Head, International Affairs Programme, Compagnia di San Paolo
  • Giorgio Rutelli – Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Adnkronos
  • Pasquale Salzano – President, SIMEST Spa; Chief International Affairs, Cassa Depositi e Prestiti
  • Stefano Sannino – Secretary General, European External Action Service
  • Giuseppe Scognamiglio – President and Chair, Eastwest European Institute
  • Alessandro Speciale – Switzerland Bureau Chief, Bloomberg
  • Fabrizio Tassinari – Executive Director, School of Transnational Governance, European University Institute
  • Nathalie Tocci – Director, Istituto Affari Internazionali
  • Valentino Valentini – Deputy Minister for Enterprise and Made in Italy
  • Michele Ziosi – Senior Vice President, IVECO Group